I'm interviewing at a special school next week. Any lesson ideas for developing communication? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I'm interviewing at a special school next week. Any lesson ideas for developing communication?

Gemma89
Gemma89 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited October 2021 in Education
Hi, I need some help. I am a teacher and I am going for an interview at a special school next week, I need to teach a lesson that is based on developing communication skills for Year 5/6 children working at Year 1 level. Can anyone help me with ideas please? Many thanks xx
Tagged:

Comments

• forgoodnesssake
    forgoodnesssake Community member Posts: 500 Pioneering
    Presumably you are aware of organisations like ICAN, AFASIC and the Communication Consortium (lots of resources on the ICAN website.)  This is a huge subject and in a way your request shows how little teacher training prepares students for working with children with SEND (I did a PGCE some years ago and learned NOTHING about SEND at all)

• L_Volunteer
    L_Volunteer Community Volunteer Adviser, Scope Member Posts: 7,979 Disability Gamechanger
    edited October 2021
    Hi @Gemma89