I'm interviewing at a special school next week. Any lesson ideas for developing communication? — Scope | Disability forum
New to the community? Remember to read our community guidelines and our community house rules.
Concerned about another member's safety or wellbeing? Find out how to let us know.

I'm interviewing at a special school next week. Any lesson ideas for developing communication?

Gemma89
Gemma89 Member Posts: 2 Listener
edited October 16 in Education
Hi, I need some help. I am a teacher and I am going for an interview at a special school next week, I need to teach a lesson that is based on developing communication skills for Year 5/6 children working at Year 1 level. Can anyone help me with ideas please? Many thanks xx
Tagged:

Comments

• forgoodnesssake
    forgoodnesssake Member Posts: 386 Pioneering
    Presumably you are aware of organisations like ICAN, AFASIC and the Communication Consortium (lots of resources on the ICAN website.)  This is a huge subject and in a way your request shows how little teacher training prepares students for working with children with SEND (I did a PGCE some years ago and learned NOTHING about SEND at all)

• L_Volunteer
    L_Volunteer Community Volunteer Adviser Posts: 334 Pioneering
    edited October 12
    Hi @Gemma89

Honestly, my main recommendation would be to get to know the students and their interests and be led by that. However, in the short term, familiar songs and games can be great. You might also find social stories useful, particularly if you can adapt them to the children in your group and their needs and interests. I would also advise you to find out if they use PECS, sign language, Makaton or any other forms of AAC. Access is always a high priority! Does anyone else have any recommendations?  :)