Hi, my name is Becca27! In the process of applying for a EHCP for my son — Scope | Disability forum
Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.

Hi, my name is Becca27! In the process of applying for a EHCP for my son

Becca27
Becca27 Member Posts: 1 Listener
edited October 19 in Education
Hi everyone 
I’m in the process of applying for a ehcp for my 10 year old son , just waiting for a meeting with his school to see what support they are going to put in place as he is struggling to attend , Cahms suggested I applied for the ehcp myself, as I have never written one before I will be looking for advice.
kind regards 
Becca27
Tagged:

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Member Posts: 24,725 Disability Gamechanger
    HI,
    You don't write the EHCP yourself, your local Authority does this and this a process you need to go through before it can be done and the first step is the assessment. There's some information here.
    https://www.gov.uk/children-with-special-educational-needs/extra-SEN-help
  • Ross_Scope
    Ross_Scope Posts: 5,416

Scope community team

Hello @Becca27

Wishing you a warm welcome to the community, it's lovely to see you join us. 

This must be a very important time for you and your son, and of course it's important to get him the support he needs in education. You might want to contact IPSEA, who would be able to offer professional advice in this sort of area. For example, they have this page about EHCPs.
    Online Community Coordinator

Concerned about another member's safety or wellbeing? Flag your concerns with us.

Did you receive a helpful reply to your discussion? Fill out our feedback form and let us know about it.
  • L_Volunteer
    L_Volunteer Community Volunteer Adviser Posts: 567 Pioneering
    Hi @Becca27