Hi, my name is Becca27! In the process of applying for a EHCP for my son — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, my name is Becca27! In the process of applying for a EHCP for my son

Becca27
Becca27 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
edited October 2021 in Education
Hi everyone 
I’m in the process of applying for a ehcp for my 10 year old son , just waiting for a meeting with his school to see what support they are going to put in place as he is struggling to attend , Cahms suggested I applied for the ehcp myself, as I have never written one before I will be looking for advice.
kind regards 
Becca27
Tagged:

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,357 Disability Gamechanger
    HI,
    You don't write the EHCP yourself, your local Authority does this and this a process you need to go through before it can be done and the first step is the assessment. There's some information here.
    https://www.gov.uk/children-with-special-educational-needs/extra-SEN-help
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • Ross_Alumni
    Ross_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,652 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @Becca27

Wishing you a warm welcome to the community, it's lovely to see you join us. 

This must be a very important time for you and your son, and of course it's important to get him the support he needs in education. You might want to contact IPSEA, who would be able to offer professional advice in this sort of area. For example, they have this page about EHCPs.
    Online Community Coordinator

Concerned about another member's safety or wellbeing? Flag your concerns with us.

Did you receive a helpful reply to your discussion? Fill out our feedback form and let us know about it.