Remaining politically neutral during General Election 2024

Under guidance from the Electoral Commission and Charity Commission, it's important that Scope remains politically neutral during General Elections.

While we understand that this period will see many passionate discussions and do not want to discourage open discussion, we cannot allow discussions which are purely intended to influence voting.

As ever, please make sure that your comments remain respectful of other people's opinions and keep to our online community house rules.
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Words or phrases that you don’t like

Options
66Mustang
66Mustang Community member Posts: 14,984 Disability Gamechanger
edited May 2022 in Coffee lounge
When I studied maths I used to have a strange dislike of the word “formulae”, the plural of “formula”. I used to say “formulas”. Yes I was a real tearaway at school!!

Same for “stadia” as plural for “stadium”, especially when a footballer says it trying to sound intelligent. Just say “stadiums” please.

Yes I know I’m in the wrong.

What about you? :)

Comments

• 66Mustang
    Options
    Oh and I’d also add most “internet speak” words and phrases!
  • Sue_Alumni
    Sue_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 485 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi, I dont like it when people say math instead of maths .... so annoying 
    Online Community Adviser

Concerned about another member's safety or wellbeing? Flag your concerns with us.
  • 66Mustang
    edited May 2022
    Options
    @Sue_Scope hehe, could actually say the same about any Americanism when it comes from the mouth of a British person!!
  • leeCal
    leeCal Community member Posts: 7,550 Disability Gamechanger
    Options