Hi, my name is zeitgeist49! What I learnt from working with autistic children — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, my name is zeitgeist49! What I learnt from working with autistic children

zeitgeist49
zeitgeist49 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
edited June 2022 in Autism and neurodiversity
I worked as a licensed professional in psychiatry for 40 years (1969 - 2009 ).  I specifically worked with autistic children from 1973 to 1977. One observation which amazed me during that time was the frequent mis-diagnosis of autism. And the over - diagnosis seems to have gotten worse in the past few decades. My observation is that autism syndrome incidence truly hasn't changed much in the past 50 years. The following are primary symptoms I observed : repetitive, compulsive behavior with the purpose to engender predictability ; absence of mutual interactions and game playing; severe communication deficits; avoidance of the use of the pronoun "I"; behavioral tantrums were encountered when any type of disapproval was perceived by the autistic child or hearing the word, "No". My clinical experience and therapeutic knowledge of autism confirms that utilizing unconditional acceptance is the most effective approach in treating autistic children. Developing a close, trusting relationship is a primary goal. Clearly, the earlier the commencement of treatment, the more favorable are the therapeutic outcomes. My experience also confirms that medication and behavioral treatments, as primary modes of treatment, have proven to be ineffective for several decades. Utilizing unc