Hi, my name is Chris AKA wandering_chris! — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, my name is Chris AKA wandering_chris!

Options
wandering_chris
wandering_chris Community member, Scope Member Posts: 70 Courageous
Where to begin? Well, at the beginning I suppose! I am 32, living in the East Midlands, I suffer from cerebral palsy and receive care from my Mum and carers. I am a university graduate and have 2 degrees.

I'm very spiritual and receive emotional support from my religious community.

Unfortunately, fortune hasn't been too kind as I had a setback due to sciatica and now my muscles are unconditioned. I'm doing all I can to get on my feet and use a walking frame again but nobody can tell me when I'll recover.

I see my friends, all with jobs, some are fathers... and here am I, no job, living with Mum, feeling like a bum, and I don't know what to do.

I had a job and everything set to go, and this sets me back. I still want to move from Mum, but Mum also has problems of her own and I'm scared to leave her. She says she'll be fine when I move in the next few years, but I'm not so sure.

Please tell me I can make it, I am determined too but it'd be nice to see some examples.

Kind Regards,

Chris

Comments

• Sandy_123
    Sandy_123 Scope Member Posts: 50,610 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @wandering_chris welcome to the community, sorry to read that you have a set back with sciatica, have the drs refered you to physio for this?