Tips for a New AFO User? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Tips for a New AFO User?

Options
emberkid
emberkid Community member Posts: 16 Connected
I’m being fitted for my first pair of AFOs next week, and I could use any tips or insights other users have for making the most of them.  I’ve never used any kind of mobility device before, not even temporarily, so I’m very new to all of this.  A few questions that come to mind include the following:

Mine will be carbon fiber rather than plastic.  Is there anything specific I need to be aware of in terms of their care and maintenance?

I’ve heard that the straps wear out easily, being made of Velcro.  Do I have to go back to the orthotist for replacements when this happens, or can I get or make new straps elsewhere?

By how much should I increase my shoe size, and what kinds of shoes are most and least beneficial to pair with AFOs?

Will carbon fiber cause issues with metal detectors?  I’ve read that it can set them off.  I’m traveling by plane next month, and I don’t want them to cause trouble with security.

What should I use to pad the foot plates with?  I’ve tried out carbon AFOs briefly with my orthotist when he was evaluating me, and they weren’t terribly comfortable to stand on.

That’s all I can come up with for the moment, but if anyone has any tips or advice that I didn’t ask about, I’d be grateful to hear from you.  Thanks everyone!

Comments

• Alex_Alumni
    Alex_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,562 Disability Gamechanger
    Options