I need my own space-help! — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I need my own space-help!

Options
monov21
monov21 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Hello,
I live in Lambeth, and I am currently on the housing register. I live at home with my mother but really desire my own space as our relationship is strained and I now believe it is effecting my overall wellbeing and mental health.
The waitlist in Lambeth council is over 8 years. I’ve been bidding for 3 years now and with low priority I have no chance of securing a council home for myself any time soon. Im 32 now.
My only option I know of is to rent privately however I cannot afford to do so. Studio or 1 bedroom flats around London is very expensive and would take up majority of my salary. What options or advice would you all recommend for someone in my situation.
As I’m older I do not want flatmates,

Comments

• Luchia
    Luchia Community member Posts: 282 Pioneering
    Options
    Unfortunately without priority the wait list can be very long if you get an offer at all, have you given you a banding?
    Do you have any disabilities? Sorry to ask but this can make a big difference in banding.

If the council have decided you are suitable housed(within their standards) then it might be an idea to look a little further out of London if that’s possible at all.

Due to Right To Buy the councils have lost a huge amount of housing stock and no where near enough to been built to compensate for this so without Priority most people won’t get an offer of a property 
  • Luchia