Unable to access bank account — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Unable to access bank account

SMW83
SMW83 Community member Posts: 108 Courageous
Hi,

I suffer from PTSD and Agoraphobia and rely on being able to shop online to be able to live independently.

I recently changed banks, applying and being accepted for an account online, which I have been using for a few months. Recently I have had issues with transactions being declined and therefore called them to discuss it. They have stated that as there has been some unusual activity on the account that I would have to attend a branch with photo ID to have restrictions on account removed. However owing to my illnesses doing this is an impossibility. As I can’t do this, my account is is essence frozen (other than being able to remove cash which is of me use to me) and I will be unable to pay for things using my card, leaving me unable to shop for myself and such.

i have advised them of this and pointed out that my account was opened without them requesting photo ID and such and they have allowed me to use the account without issue for the last few months.

Does anyone have any idea how to rectify this matter otherwise it will leave me in an untenable situation.

Comments

• Matilda
    Matilda Community member Posts: 2,593 Disability Gamechanger
    @SMW83

I suggest that you phone the Scope Helpline - 0808 800 3333.
  • steve51
    steve51 Community member Posts: 7,153 Disability Gamechanger
    @SMW83

Good afternoon & Welcome to our website and online community.

Yes I had the same thing happen to me a few months ago now.

In the end I had to go "backward & forward" to my bank in the end to get the item's in question clarified.

At the time I had to have a "face to face" with one off the banks staff.

The item's in question where of the internet !!!!

Are you able to get to your local bank ????