My 8 year old is displaying anxious behaviour. — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

My 8 year old is displaying anxious behaviour.

justthe5ofus
justthe5ofus Community member Posts: 4 Listener
Hello,
My my son is 8 and has always had little quirks. For instance, refused to wear shoes, jackets, trousers. Although he will now, but the shoes have to be 'just so'. Hated having his hair cut, thankfully he is okay now. He is always on the move, runs, jumps, rolls. At school he swings on his chair, fidgets with his hands, always in trouble for talking. He doesn't finish his work on time, and is academically delayed in comparison to his peers. He is very impulsive, and while he's aware of consequences, in the moment, it seems like he doesn't care. I have a psychology degree and have tried every type of parenting approach without success. Every report card from P1 to P3 have stated that he has to concentrate more and that he is easily distracted. He is now in P4 and his new teacher shouts a lot, which results in him being sent to the head teacher. He isn't succeeding, and appears to be just coping to get through the day. His older brother, while still acting age appropriately, is well behaved and learning successfully. 

He has a speech therapist for a speech delay, and I have recently contacted an independent occupational therapist who suspects sensory processing issues, and is in the process of completing a sensory profile on him. She suspects tactile defensiveness to a degree, and hyopsensitivity of the proprioreceptive sense.