PIP or attendance allowance which? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

PIP or attendance allowance which?

sue66
sue66 Community member Posts: 124 Pioneering
Im 66, 67 in February. ive been receiving DLA  for a few years low rate care and middle rate mobility. Waiting for the brown envelope to  apply for PIP, Dont hold out much hope of getting any points at all as my ailment is M.E., hard to prove, not on any medication or under any consultant. Due to my age im wondering if it would be worth applying for Attendance allowance instead of PIP or they both just as hard to get for this ailment?

Comments

• Nystagmite
    Nystagmite Community member Posts: 596 Pioneering
    Attendance allowance doesn't have a mobility component.
  • CockneyRebel
    CockneyRebel Community member Posts: 5,209 Disability Gamechanger
    When you are assessed for PIP, now that you are over retirement age, the mobility component that you accept will be the one that you carry forward provided that you continue to meet the criteria.
    By this I mean
    If you accept the standard rate you will not be able to receive the enhanced rate in the future even if your needs change
    If you don't receive the mobility component then you you cannot receive it in the future
    So for anyone in this situation, consider carefully what you will accept or fight for.

CR

Be all you can be, make  every day count. Namaste
  • wildlife
    wildlife Community member Posts: 1,293 Pioneering
    So what happens if you are 66 and have standard rate Daily Living. Can you get higher rate on review in 2 years time.
  • CockneyRebel
    CockneyRebel Community member Posts: 5,209 Disability Gamechanger
    This is from AgeUK fact sheet 87, page 11

If you are 65 or over