Social groups? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Social groups?

[Deleted User]
[Deleted User] Posts: 5 Listener
Hello, I'm a 62yr old lady in a wheelchair. I'd like to join a group that does different things other than ,knit and natter, play cards, crafts, reading groups or just meet for coffee. I'm sorry but I know quite a few would like that, but it's just not for me.
im interested in ,history, museums, architecture , archiology, medical issues ( I'm a retired nurse)
anything to do with animals, baking and I really like the countryside.
i lost my leg over 13 yrs ago after getting septicaemia after a knee replacement. It was a great shock and so I just couldn't accept a false leg, which by the way I did try and use without success. I have mental issues when out in my wheelchair although I do now drive again after not doing for ten yrs after losing my confidence. I cannot watch the Paralympics , yet I find it strange as being a nurse and helping patients, I now cannot accept my situation.
however, I'm a fighter in some ways. I live in north wales, and I've been left to rot by my health board for the last 13 yrs. so I'd like to get out there and join a group or organisation which I'd be interested in. So does anyone know where I can go? I'd be grateful for any feed back.

Comments

• steve51
    steve51 Community member Posts: 7,153 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Cuddles

A very very big welcome to you !!!!!!!

I'm currently based in the West Midlands but I have been around Wales for years now !!!!!!

You are very welcome to have a look around our site/online community as I'm sure that you may find members in your area that would be better placed to help ???

But if you have no joy please please come back to me ???

Thanks.

• [Deleted User]
    Thanks. I’m still getting used to the site
  • steve51
    steve51 Community member Posts: 7,153 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Cuddles