Living a wild life with mild Cerebral Palsy — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Living a wild life with mild Cerebral Palsy

JennieGillies
JennieGillies Community member Posts: 6 Listener

My name is Jennie Gillies. I am 24 years old. I live in Ontario Canada and I have mild spastic diplegia Cerebral Palsy. I was diagnosed when I was 2 years old. I love dying my hair bright colours, dogs, the ocean, and the beach. I have multiple tattoos and I love to travel. I have a bachelor’s Degree in both Community Economic Social Development and Political Science. My dream is to live on the ocean with a rescue puppy and write poetry.

I am 24 years old. I was born 2 months and 10 days premature. I was 2lbs and 14 oz. I was a peanut. My hand fit on my Mom’s thumb like a treefrog’s. Once I got home from the hospital and the fear that I was going to die at any given minute had subsided, infant development testing began. I saw an occupational therapist, a physiotherapist, a speech pathologist, and I underwent hearing and sight tests to make sure everything was up to snuff with me. Being that I was so premature and underweight, the health care team wanted to ensure that I was developing at the rate I should have been. Fortunately, I hit all the milestones with flying colours and it was determined that according to my results that I should lead a “normal” life.

landscape image taken from behind of a girl sat on rocks and looking out over the mountains and sea in the distance