Contribution based and income related esa — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Contribution based and income related esa

cara1983
cara1983 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
hi I’m new to this so will try my best to explain , basically my daughter gets middle rate Dla and low rate mobility and I’ve applied for Carers Allowance but I get esa both income related and contribution based and I’m in the support group , when I called Carers Allowance they told me I am entitled to Carers premiums but not while I’m getting contributions based esa so they suggested I call and ask them to just put me on income related but they haven’t and after calling 4 times and trying to explain everything I’m not getting anywhere , does anyone no how I can sort this out please and any advice will be much appreciated 

Comments

• Chloe_Scope
    Chloe_Scope Posts: 10,586 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @cara1983 and a warm welcome to the community! Thank you for taking the time to write this. I am not a benefits expert so wouldn't know what to suggest in this situation. However, the helpline may be able to help: 0808 800 3333
    Scope

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 273 Pioneering
    Hi cara1983

Thank you for posting on the Scope community.

I can confirm that Carers Allowance and contributory ESA  "overlap" which means that people aren't paid both. 

When people (for example DWP staff) say that you can't get premiums on contributory benefit, what they mean is something like this: