Tribunal backpay — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Tribunal backpay

soplou89
soplou89 Community member Posts: 21 Listener

Hello. First post. So i won my sons tribunal from November 2017. As i was waiting i had more evidence and because im new to this i phoned the DWP to ask about sending it in they said it'll be easier and quicker with new evidence to do a new claim, so i did. Also refused. Anyway i left it. Went to tribunal august 18 and won HRC from nov 17 till january 19 as the tribual award letter states. Now ive found out that cause i lodged another form whislt waiting even tho it was refused the tribunal decision doesn't stand??? Is this right. I had no idea and wasnt informed , im absolutley devasted. please help. Will they do what tribunal says and pay november 17 till jan19

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,357 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi,

Yes, that is correct i'm afraid. Any decision for a new claim will overrule a Tribunal decision. It was a bad decision to start a new claim while waiting for a Tribunal. You will be backdated the money up until the date you started the new claim though. 

Did you ask for a mandatory reconsideration on the new claim? 
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • soplou89
    No cause i just thought id leave it to tribunal . im so annoyed i assumed dwp was giving me correct advise
    is there anyway i can argue this

• soplou89
    i dont understand why though as it wasn't even an active claim as it got refused the decision for tribunal should still stand as it was regarding a previous claim renewal