Depressed — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Depressed

sandra51
sandra51 Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Hi. My name is sandra and this is the first time ive uploaded a comment. I hope i can explain clearly.
I am 52 years old and i work full time as a court security officer. I have been working in the courts since 2008. In 2009, i was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis. It started in my hands but now affects all my joints. My hips are very painful constantly. I hate getting up in the morning as i know my day consists of aches and pains. I start work at 07.00 but i wake up at 04.30 as my movements are slow, i have trouble getting in and out of the bath, getting dressed, etc..
I also have asthma which at times becomes very severe and i have to take steroids to ease my breathing. I get out of breath walking upstairs, walking short distances and even dressing.
I was diagnosed with depression around 2 years ago. My dose went from 50mg to 100mg to 150mg.
Everyday is just a struggle for me, if its not one thing its another. Sometimes the pain in my hip joints makes me feel like i am going to fall over and my leg stiffens up.
My job is becoming so stressful for me as its constant movement, walking up and down 3 flights of stairs which has many steps. I just find it so difficult now. I cannot respond to panic alarms as my movement is to slow and i cannot run up the stairs, i cant even bear to walk up them.
Its getting to the point where i cant do this anymore. Im totally worn out, stressed out, unhappy, depressed, i am an emotional wreck. I have bad thoughts when i feel i cannot cope. My kids and my grandchildren keep me moving forward. I receive PIP and as i stated, i work full time. Monday - Saturday 60+ hrs..