advice for a PIP face to face assessment — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

advice for a PIP face to face assessment

Options
nagillum
nagillum Community member Posts: 8 Listener
edited September 2018 in PIP, DLA, and AA
Hi guys, 
Newbie here and was wondering if anyone has any advice for a PIP face to face assessment which I have this week.
I suffer from Bipolar disorder/ Depression, Fibromyalgia, Vertigo, Plantar Fasciitis, Anxiety, Panic Attacks and ongoing gastric issues (possibly IBS but on waiting list for endoscopy etc) which also causes flare ups in my Blepharitis, dry eye and seborrhoeic dermatitis. 
I'm in a real state over this, I depend on these payments, I'm a single father as well and I was also told that could go against me.
Any help or advice would gratefully received 

Comments

• Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @nagillum
    Lots of understand just how worrying and stressful a PIP face to face can be, we have lots of support and advice on this though.

We have this video on preparing for your face to face which may help

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qq5QV_SnkJs

CAB have a brilliant guide here and they say:

Don’t let the assessor rush you and try not to just answer ‘yes’ or ‘no’ to their questions. Always try to explain how doing something would make you feel afterwards and the impact it can have on you if you had to do it repeatedly in a short period of time.
    Download the PIP assessment help sheet - to take with you to your assessment [ 97 kb]
    Print it out and take it with you. It includes tips on what to take to your assessment and dos and don’ts during the assessment.
    Scope
    Senior online community officer
  • alanstroud
    alanstroud Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Options
    Like to thank those of you who have made comments on this matter 
  • Wonderer