Universal credit — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Universal credit

robinhood8
robinhood8 Community member Posts: 128 Pioneering
edited October 2018 in Universal Credit (UC)
Good morning everyone or should I say afternoon I have been working for 35 years and now I have to give up work due to ill health arthritis CP I've l heard so many bad story in the newspaper about people being on UC been in debt poverty can't manage and now I have to go down this road after working so long I'm completely lost I have my appointment at the Jobcentre regarding universal credit happy death of any advice thank you
Jacqueline

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,355 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi,

Universal credit is a means tested benefit. If you've been working and paid enough national insurance contributions in the last 2 tax years and your area is a full UC area then you should claim New style contributions based ESA and not UC.

Do you live with a partner that works and do you currently rent your home? if you rent your home do you claim housing benefit?
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • robinhood8
    What would I do Without You poppy I don't live with my partner I have an appointment on Thursday 18th of October thank you so much for your advice you're a star x
  • poppy123456
    Happy to help! Do you claiming housing benefit at the moment?

I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
  • robinhood8
    I get the standard daily living allowance can I get some money knocked off for my rent and council tax
  • poppy123456