Esa, Pip, student loans, single mother and so confused — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Esa, Pip, student loans, single mother and so confused

thegirlwiththecrown
thegirlwiththecrown Community member Posts: 3 Listener
edited October 2018 in Education
Hello im wondering if someone could shed some light on this. 
I get income based esa (support group) and PIP (standard care) and housing benefit (i have to top it up by 100 every month to make rent as housing dont cover it all) 
I get ctc of 47 pw (apparently i was over paid last yr ?) and cb goes to credit union. 
Im a current university student and ive just been given my entitlement. This is my 1st year.
It says
Maintenance Loan £9916.00
Of which the Special Support Element equals: £3680.00
The Department for Work and Pensions won’t count £3,680.00 of the maximum Maintenance Loan
for living costs as student income when they work out what benefits you can get.

Is anyone/has anyone been in this situation? I know it will effect my esa, however im not sure how much they will reduce my award by. Im worrying out my mind ? 

Comments

• sarah50
    sarah50 Community member Posts: 119 Pioneering
    Hi ?. @thegirlwiththecrown sorry I can't help you I think the rules must have changed as when I was a single mum and student I was on income support, they made me stop that and borrow all my living costs in the form of student loans. I hope you can find somebody to give you good advice. Is there anybody at Uni that could advise?
  • Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    @melaniethorley can you help?
    Scope
    Senior online community officer
  • Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    I have asked @BenefitsTrainingCo to take a look too to see if they can help :)
    Scope
    Senior online community officer
  • thegirlwiththecrown