MR process is getting me down — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

MR process is getting me down

and72
and72 Community member Posts: 4 Listener
edited November 2018 in PIP, DLA, and AA
Hello, I'm new here and looking for help with PIP

Comments

• Ami2301
    Ami2301 Community member Posts: 7,942 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @and72 welcome to the community!

Would you like to tell us a bit more? Then we can try and find a way to help you! :)
    Disability Gamechanger - 2019
  • and72
    Hi Ami2301,

Thank you. I just received my PIP notice to say I hadn't been awarded anything at all. I have been receiving DLA since 2006, I had to appeal then and again in 2010. My daughter had to phone DWP and ask them to do the Mandatory reconsideration (I think) and she asked for a copy of the Medical assessment I had at my face to face assessment, to be sent to me.

I have received that and looking through it, it's full of holes, untruths and statements or observations from the assessor. Apparently all the while she was making 'informal observations', which I find to be quite underhand. Not everyone has the same symptoms, or markers, or will have the same pain thresholds.

Things like I didn't seem to be in pain (I had to get up from the very uncomfortable chairs they had, twice, because my leg was going numb and this was using my crutches to do so), I would like to know how a look can assess that...

I didn't 'look' tired - I'm lucky to get 2 hours of uninterrupted sleep a night! But because I wasn't yawning or nodding off, I wasn't tired...

I didn't seem to have a mental health problem, because I made eye contact and seemed well presented. Does everyone with a mental health problem have to be scruffy or impolite? Or not able to answer any question at all, especially about medication I've been on for over 10 years...