Bad experience at tribunal - Im desperate for help — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Bad experience at tribunal - Im desperate for help

gch
gch Community member Posts: 4 Listener
edited November 2018 in PIP, DLA, and AA
This is my first time on here and am desperate for help. I had my PIP tribunal last week and had a representative with me. When I first went in the committee said they had some concerns regarding one of my appeals but didn’t say which one, they just stated clauses and numbers from their papers.

My representative didn’t have a clue what she was talking about and seemed to be extremely anxious of what to say or do next. It got to the stage where the judge asked if he had anyone in his office he could talk to for advice. We had to leave the room so my representative could phone his office. I told him right from the start I didn’t want to appeal my care component and only wanted to appeal my mobility.

The clerk came through to see if we were ready to go back in and my representative said yes, without discussing the conversation he just had with his office to me. When I went back in, the committee asked me so many questions re my care and mobility which I answered but I felt they kept pushing me for a different answer.

For instance, I told them that I have some form of eating disorder as food is not an issue to me and I would only eat when prompted. They asked if I could boil and egg and I told them that I wouldn’t eat anything if my daughter, who is my carer, wasn’t there. They kept pushing me asking if I could do this task even thought I kept telling the. That my daughter and husband do the cooking.