ESA and permitted work whilst studying — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

ESA and permitted work whilst studying

seawitch31
seawitch31 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Really hoping I can get some advice about permitted work and being a student here! At the moment I am in receipt of income-based ESA (support group), PIP (standard daily living rate) and housing benefit. I am also a part-time student with the Open University - I have told the DWP that I am studying for 15 hours a week.

My first question is, is it possible to do permitted work whilst also being a part-time student? I cannot find any restrictions on this but just wanted to double-check that this wouldn't count as too many hours.

Secondly, what happens if you earn over the permitted work earnings limit of £125.50? I am thinking of applying for a job that is under 16 hours a week but with a high hourly rate of pay, meaning I'd earn over £125.50 every week. However, it is also only a temporary job that lasts three months. I understand I would lose my ESA entitlement for those three months, but would it also affect my housing benefit? And at the end of the three months, would I still technically be on ESA, as I have been working less than 16 hours each week? Or would I have to start a new claim of Universal Credit (I'm in a full-service area)?

Would appreciate any advice as I can't seem to find the answers to any of these questions online!

Comments

• steve51
    steve51 Community member Posts: 7,153 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @seawitch31

Good Evening and Welcome!!

It's great to meet you today.

I think that it is best for me to forward your post onto one of our "Benefit Advisors"

They would be best placed to answer it for you if you don't mind???

I am not too sure when they will be able to get back to you as it is "Holiday Time"

Hi @BenefitsTrainingCo
    Can you please offer me some help with this tricky post???

Many thanks.