Refused a home assessment, please help — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Refused a home assessment, please help

davelectronic
davelectronic Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Hello to the Community. 
The Scope website seemed to jump off the page at me, so I joined. Thank you for that.

I'm not sure where to start, I'm a 20 year sufferer of ME cfs, also chronic gastric distress. Recently I had to go through the PIP Assessment, the process was fare, and I was treated with care and respect. This was September 2018, I was granted the enhanced rate of care and mobility component. 

Previous to this assessment I had been receiving the low rate of DLA for around 3 years. I'm in an advanced state of deterioration physically. My diet is very poor nutritionally just due to the limited things I can eat daily. I have significant muscle wasting in both my legs, and struggle with a few tens of meters walking.

My life has been as a virtual prisoner, only going out to DR. Appointments and hospital Appointments. Even then it was local door to door via taxi. After the PIP assessment I applied for the use of a mobility scooter. This was granted, and I've used the scooter about five times to visit my local Tescos some 200 metres from where I live. I have had the mobility scooter since early October 2018.

Recently I have had to fill out a work questionnaire for the DWP. This was sent back in November 2018. Since then I've been asked to attend an assessment at a centre some 22 miles away from where I live. I have no problem with the going through the assessment, although I don't believe people get treated fairly in this system.