Chronic pain — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Chronic pain

izy
izy Community member Posts: 4 Listener
Hello. I'm not very good at talking to strangers, but I suppose after you take the plunge you're not a stranger any more.

I have had chronic Crohn's Disease for 30+ years, 8 operations leading to an ileostomy. Further surgeries mean I have minimal bowel left and so although I have daily pain with Crohn's flare up and adhesions, nothing more can be done. The Crohn's affects all soft tissue including my eyes, nose, mouth and areas down under lol. (Not used to or good at talking about all this. I'm called Mrs Fine at the hospital because that's my answer to how I am. "I'm fine!) Having taken masses of medication throughout the years I now have peripheral neuropathy which affects my lower legs and my hands - most annoying. Sometimes I am wheelchair bound with it, but not too often thank goodness.

I have very low thyroid output which is strange since I bob between 6 stone and 7 stone 7.

I was prone to collapsing quite frequently since childhood which was put down to my low blood pressure, however in 2008 I collapsed and fitted and came round in the ambulance arriving at the hospital. This became frequent and after tests and scans I was diagnosed with epilepsy which they say I have had in petit mal form from the age of 4. That's what all the falling over and going into dream states was about but my mother did not allow illness in our family so I was never properly looked at.