Greetings from the toilet lady! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Greetings from the toilet lady!

SpendingSpoons
SpendingSpoons Community member Posts: 16 Connected
edited February 2019 in Research and opportunities

Hello, my name is Sarah, I’m 31 and I’ve just joined the forum. I returned to uni last September to complete my BA after a 4 year break because of my health issues. I have a variety of chronic health conditions including fibromyalgia, arthritis and dissociative seizure disorder as well as depression and anxiety (it’s quite a list – I know).

I’ve joined today in the hope that some of you may be interested in helping me with my 3rd year anthropology project. I posted a discussion in the ‘events, research and opportunities’ group about my project but wanted to say hello here as I’m very new to all this and it seemed rude not to say Hello.

I’m interested in people’s experiences of using disabled public toilets; whether you ever get stopped or questioned for using them because you have a so called ‘invisible’ disabilities (my fibro isn’t very invisible to me!) Or if maybe you see a lot of non-disabled people using them?

If anyone would be interested in telling me about their experiences, whether you are disabled, a parent, a carer; please feel free to reply to me here or on the research group. I will not use ANY information in this thread or anywhere else on the forum without your express permission – If anyone wants to chat about any issues they’ve faced when using disabled public toilets but not want to have their words used in my project; that is absolutely fine.

[Removed by moderator] I know it can get a bit personal talking about toilets and I don’t want to make anyone embarrassed or uncomfortable.

I’m happy to chat about toilets if you are =) Just call me the toilet lady! - I prefer Sarah, but will answer to either =)

[Removed by moderator]

Comments

• Antonia_Alumni