RGK Wheelchairs and applying for one through Lord Tavener’s — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

RGK Wheelchairs and applying for one through Lord Tavener’s

ablack619
ablack619 Community member Posts: 5 Listener
Hello, I’m new to this. I was wondering if anyone has had any first time experience of obtaining an RGK wheelchair and first time experience of applying for funding through Lord Tavener’s - this can be sports or daily life chairs. The reason why is because I’m interested in hearing from people who have got an RGK chair and what the experience of getting one is like. I am thinking of getting an AllStar sports chair or getting an Elite chair as I play wheelchair basketball but I also would like to have a daily chair as I currently use a standard chair which is massive for me as I am quite small in size, and in weight too . Fire away any experiences you’d like to share, much appreciation! :smiley:

Comments

• Matt_Scope
    Matt_Scope Scope Posts: 56 Pioneering
    Hi,  I'm not in a position to recommend one manufacturer over another, however I have had an RGK in the past and used one for recreational Basketball etc, so I feel I am in a good position to comment. 
    RGK chairs are very much made to measure as Im sure you know, there is little adaptability once you have been measured up.  This is true of other firms as well but there are also other well known brands that allow you to change heights etc in a way that the RGK style chairs tend not too.
    So if you know your positioning etc , then RGK, along with one or two other firms that closely link themselves with Basketball, may be the way to go, however if you are likely to grow, or often change your positioning, I would suggest some of the chairs that are more generic.  Or maybe go the bespoke RGK style route for the Basketball chair and the more generic route for the day chair (as I have now)