Severe Disability Premium on ESA - back payment — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Severe Disability Premium on ESA - back payment

hancfree
hancfree Community member Posts: 1 Listener
HI all,
I just wondered if anyone could give me any advice. I have been claiming income related ESA for the past 3 years and Pip enhanced daily living for the past 2 years. It has only just been pointed out to me that I should be getting severe disability premium as I live alone and no one receives a carers allowance for me. I phoned DWP yesterday and they said oh yes you should be getting that we will sort it out for you. I had read the gov.uk advice before the phone call which is as follows:

You do not have to claim disability premium. If you’re eligible, it’s automatically added to your:

• Income Support
  • Jobseeker’s Allowance (JSA)
  • Employment and Support Allowance (ESA)
  • housing benefit
I then asked if I would be getting a back payment seeing as this is clearly an error and I should have been entitled to it for the past 2 years. I was told no you won't get a back payment because you should have applied for it. I just don't see how that works alongside the advice on the website. In the 2 years since i have been on PIP I have had changes of circumstances and a work capability assessment so surely this error should have been picked up. I also already get Enhanced disability premium which I'm also entitled to but I didn't have to apply for that.