willing to answer all questions in regards to UC. - Page 2 — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

willing to answer all questions in regards to UC.

Options
2»

Comments

• DomDev
    DomDev Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Options
    Hi UCExpert,

im wondering if you can offer some advice in regards to my situation. My girlfriend (who currently claims ESA and PIP) just had a universal credit meeting to see if she could receive housing benefit as well because this falls under UC now. This is because we are relocating to another town and so require help paying for housing requirements. I'm a student who will be getting a student loan around the time we want to move (mid september) but her current benefits don't allow her to save enough money to help pay for deposit/first month rent etc. The people in her meeting today told her they wouldn't be able to give her housing benefit until she was already in the new place AND they also cut her payments she currently gets by nearly 200 a month also delaying this payment date by nearly 3 weeks..? Do you have any advice to give on our situation at all? 
  • UCExpert
    UCExpert Community member Posts: 21 Connected
    Options

Hi Dom, you are best to speak with CAB office regarding this as although id like to help I can only deal with specific questions as I would need to know all your details first. please bare in mind that uc will use your student finance as an income monthly.

local authorities can help with deposits as well.

• DomDev
    DomDev Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Options