Sciatica — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Sciatica

Options
Jasminej
Jasminej Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Hi this is my first time post. 
Basically I've had sciatica for 3 years . I've been to pip and esa meetings 2 years go I didn't get the grant as they said I was fit for work so I went and got a job and tbh I'm so much worse ? I've had steroid injections physio and coming to the end of my hydrotherapy. I'm not getting better I'm getting worse to the point I can't take my own children to school having to get friends to take them to and from . I just was to no if anyone manage to get pip or esa? I don't no what eles to do other then claim. I'm not loving life as I can't be a mum to my children? xx thanks for reading x

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,341 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi,

Firstly PIP isn't awarded based on a diagnosis, it's how those conditions affect your ability to carry out daily activity based on the PIP descriptors. When you previously applied and were refused did you request the mandatory reconsideration the Tribunal if that failed? If you didn't was there any reasons why?

You can start a new claim but you'll need evidence to support that claim and a face to face assessment will most likely be needed because most have them. Take a look at the PIP descriptors to see where you think you should score those points to see if you think you're entitled to anything. This guide will help you have more understanding of the descriptors and what they mean.

ESA... because you previously claimed this and were found fit for work then you will only be able to make a new claim for either a worsening condition of the same condition you previously applied for or a completely new condition, otherwise you won't be able to make a new claim.