Hello I'm new — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hello I'm new

Electricdawn64
Electricdawn64 Community member Posts: 12 Connected
Hi I just joined and wanted to say hello. I'm dawn and I have osteoarthritis in my hands and wrists mostly. I hadm an operation to remove one of the bones in my right thumb and replace it with a piece of tendon because the bone had crumbled. I am in constant pain but i some days it's worse than others. Today it took me a while to open the coffee (mostly using my forearms). It's my day off today. Work's harder these days and I've dropped a day. I'm an artist in my spare time and I've adapted my painting style to compensate. The slow movement helps my joints to not seize up. I hate it when I'm shopping and people are tutting behind me because I'm slow and have to use my forearms to pick up tins because I can't grip heavier objects. The highlight of my week was I got some great scissors that use palm pressure so I can now open bacon!! Hope your days are filled with little triumphs because they keep us going..... Off to make my bacon sandwich have a lovely day ?

Comments

• WhileIBreathIHope
    WhileIBreathIHope Posts: 216 Pioneering
    Interesting scissors!
    Hello and sure your find support and understanding here
  • Electricdawn64
    Fiskars shears Amazon ?
  • thespiceman
    thespiceman Community member Posts: 6,388 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @Electricdawn64   Pleased to meet you welcome.

Thank you for sharing and joining.

I am one of the team of community champions. We guide, advise and help new members who join the community.

I am sorry to hear you are struggling. You have come to the right place for information, support and most important of all friendship.

You will find members of our community . Who can identify what you are going through and hopefully be in touch.

We are a friendly community. Please have a look around our website.