Carers Backdate — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Carers Backdate

Options
tel110571
tel110571 Community member Posts: 8 Listener
Hi, 
I am new to this after becoming I'll in April, I eventually got my pip award this month after going through a reconsideration.
Pip was backdated back to June will carrers be backdated to that date, my wife has applied already And UC are already paying us ?
Thanks in Advance

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,018 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    HI,

When claiming UC and carers allowance at the same time the carers allowance will be deducted £1 for £1 from your UC payment. The carers allowance will only be backdated to the start of the PIP claim if she claimed carers allowance within 3 months of the decision made on the PIP claim.

If she hasn't already reported that she's a carer on her journal then she needs to make sure she does this and then the carers element of UC will be added to your claim.

Unless you're living in Scotland there's no financial gain to claiming carers allowance and UC because you can claim the carers element without claiming carers allowance. The only advantage is that carers allowance pay class 1 NI and UC pay class 3. Hope this helps.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • tel110571
    Options
    Thank you.. so caters will be backdated from June when the PIP was backdated to ? 

Thank you 
  • poppy123456
    Options
    No problem. If the decision on the PIP was within the last 3 months then yes, otherwise no.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
  • poppy123456
    Options