Any exemptions from paying bedroom tax? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Any exemptions from paying bedroom tax?

Kay67
Kay67 Community member Posts: 8 Connected
Hi everyone,this is my first time on this wonderful helpful organisation/website
Am a disabled & Ill mother since 2014, am on the enhanced pip, standard mobility & on ESA support .
My Son & grandson went intof care because I could no longer cope on my own with them & with no support untill the very end which social services say it's come to late, I'd say better late than never, one of my adult daughters who still lives with me  & myself still see them both & I have to wait till both are teenagers before they can come back home! If I'm still alive.
Do I've a spare room a box room & I have a carer but she doesn't stay over any nights & do next February I got to start paying bedroom tax "Nightmare for most if not everyone!
I just had a stairlift put in through a O.T & a grant , & read that certain adaptions could exempt disabled persons from paying bedroom tax , I'm not so sure about that & doubt it very much ,but what would these type of adaptions be that would exempt any off us? I've been going over Google & not seen anything yet, does anyone else have a clue?
Apologies for the long message!

Comments

• Kay67
    Correction's So not do , predictive text a nightmare 
  • Tammyjane33
    Tammyjane33 Community member Posts: 765 Pioneering
    Hi @Kay67 welcome to the scope online community. It's nice to meet you.
    I'm Tammy one of the online volunteer community champions on the site to support people. I hope you enjoy the site and find it helpful and useful. I'm just going to read your post thoroughly and then I can build a picture of what's going on and try to support you the best way I can. Would that be ok with you?
    Hope to connect with you soon. 
    Tammy
  • Tammyjane33
    Tammyjane33 Community member Posts: 765 Pioneering