What AT (Assistive Technology) do you use for studies? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

What AT (Assistive Technology) do you use for studies?

Options
JenCo
JenCo Community member Posts: 122 Pioneering
With a HI I found full-time study nearly impossible. Attending lectures meant nothing to me. I was thrilled when I started studying with Open University and all of the video resources had subtitles. My partner is dyslexic and uses Dragon for her part-time Masters. Do you study (part or full-time) and if so do you use AT?

What AT (Assistive Technology) do you use for studies? 3 votes

Screen reader (such as NVDA or JAWS)
33% 1 vote
Keyboard navigation
0% 0 votes
Voice recognition (such as Dragon Naturally Speaking or TalkBack)
0% 0 votes
Screen magnifier (such as ZoomText)
0% 0 votes
Other
66% 2 votes

Comments

• Chloe_Scope
    Chloe_Scope Posts: 10,586 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @JenCo, I graduated university last summer and used a range of AT. As my sight has deteriorated I have moved from screen magnification to a screen reader. I honestly wouldn't have been able to complete my degree if it wasn't for these due to the strain it caused my eyes. Especially towards the end!!
    Scope

• theda1471
    theda1471 Community member Posts: 6 Connected
    Options
    Hi @JenCo and anyone else who may find this useful.

I have been completely deaf in my right ear since I was 16. At uni I was often buddied with students who were profoundly deaf to make use of their note takers when we had to attend lectures in the big lecture theatres.

However, now with the advent of the new accessible Android smartphones and tablets, you can get a free app from the playstore called Google Live Transcribe - this is a godsend.