PIP Assessment Home Appointment — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

PIP Assessment Home Appointment

Options
Jaxter
Jaxter Community member Posts: 5 Listener
Hello everyone,
I am a newbie - I read the forum previously lurking in the shadows. I attended an assessment at 8:30am this morning - despite desperately trying to get a home appointment as my mental health conditions have left me all but housebound. A home visit was requested when the PIP renewal was sent,.my housemate who is forced to act as my carer completed the form on my behalf as I cannot concentrate and often misinterpret questions. Thus when I received an appointment to attend a centre for this assessment, I telephoned immediately and asked that they reconsider forcing me out of my comfort zone and provide a home assessment as they had done three years earlier. The appointment was cancelled whilst they 'reconsidered this'. I then got another appointment for assessment through, again asking me to attend the centre with no reference of my request for a home visit being declined. Once again, and greatly distressed I telephoned and spoke to someone on 13th Feb at approx 13:00 asking that I get a home visit, as the new letter/Appointment from Independent Assessment Services had no mention of it. The appointment was once again cancelled whilst they 'reviewed' the request. So imagine my shock and surprise when a letter came through dated 13th Feb stating that their 'Health Care expert' had reviewed and declined a home visit. That I would be required to attend the assessment at their offices.
I was up most of last night, getting only a couple of hours. Worse I would have to take a park and ride bus into the city to get to the early appointment on time!