Council housing & adaptations cause of disability — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Council housing & adaptations cause of disability

Crumbled72
Crumbled72 Community member Posts: 42 Courageous
Hello all ?

I am hoping to get our shower over a bath to be changed into a walk in-shower due to the issues I have with my mobility. But I have never done this before, so does anyone know what council might want to know before they accept these changes to be done? Do I have to be a recipient to certain benefits or is a letter from my GP enough?
I have tried to find answers online from my councils Web-page but it only tells to contact them, so not going to burden them yet with this in these times.

Thank you for answering ?
All you need is L❤️VE ..and oxygen ?

Comments

• CarolAnn1953
    CarolAnn1953 Community member Posts: 22 Connected
    Ring your local council and ask to be put through to Occupational Health dept. Or adult Social Services. I've been approved but had to contact them first. I myself have been approved and waiting for a walk in shower. 
    I hope this helped you. 
  • Chloe_Scope
    Chloe_Scope Posts: 10,586 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Crumbled72,

Here is some information:

Disability grants for home adaptations

All local authorities have Disabled Facilities Grant (DFG) schemes for adaptations that cost over £1,000. Adults and children can be eligible for a DFG, but they are means-tested for adults. A DFG is paid as the work is done or after it is finished. You cannot get one for work that has already started.

Most local authorities also have a budget to pay for small changes to your home that cost under £1,000. These are not means-tested (based on your savings or income).

Housing associations manage adaptations in different ways. Ask your housing association what their policy is.