How will my wife's claim affect my own? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

How will my wife's claim affect my own?

Mikehere
Mikehere Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Yesterday my wife was told her contract was ended. I have been through the hellish process of claiming esa support group and pip.

We own our apartment but have very little money.

My question is Will my wife's claim affect mine? And, which is the best benefit for her to claim?

I have been traumatised by my experience with Benefits and am very nervous about my claim being scrutinised again. I have been claiming for more than 10 years so been through benefit name changes and assessments of all kinds. I hope not to be grilled again.

Please help with any guidance on how to claim with least affect to my claim.

Thanks so much. Mike

Comments

• Mikehere
    I think I may have found my own answer, but please can you confirm or comment.

I believe that if my wife claims the 'New Style' JSA then it won't affect my benefits. Is this correct?

Thanks!
  • leeCal
    leeCal Community member Posts: 7,550 Disability Gamechanger
    Personally I don’t know but it may be that @Adrian_Scope could help.

“This is my simple religion. No need for temples. No need for complicated philosophy. Your own mind, your own heart is the temple. Your philosophy is simple kindness.” 
    ― Dalai Lama XIV

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi and welcome to the community I am not too sure of an answer here but I wold expect you will now have to claim as a couple. I will tag in another member who will have more knowledge to help you

@poppy123456 can you advise here
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,333 Disability Gamechanger
    Thanks for the tag @janer1967

Hi and welcome,