I need help to find an appropriate property — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I need help to find an appropriate property

Mac2012
Mac2012 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Hello just joined and am extremely anxious about my current housing situation and just don’t know what to do?

ive lives in this borough since June this year and property is not suitable for my needs. Council require lots of info I’m unable to give at moment. My driving license is being renewed including change of name and address. DVLA also want a medical done but GP’s aren’t doing them at the moment. I have an Occupational Therapy’s report regarding the unsuitable property I’m living in.
council want me to register on Homelink but I can’t cos I have no photographic ID. And no local connection. I’m trying to rent privately but have problems with estate agents as I’m a retired lecturer so have no income!
im on full PIP ESA with support Housing Benefit UC.

i need help to find appropriate property to mo e in to with my live in carer my assistance medical dog and an 11 yr old house cat.

if anyone can advise me I would be so grateful!!!!

thanks you

Comments

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi and welcome I'm sorry to hear the problems you are having I would contact the shelter organisation or CAB or welfare rights 

Did you know the property was unsuitable before you moved as it doesn't seem you have been there long 

It is hard to private rent when on benefits 

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,926 Disability Gamechanger
    HI and welcome,

It's not easy to find a privately rented property with a landlord/agency that will accept anyone claiming benefits, although they are not supposed to refuse us, they most certainly do.