Back in work — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Back in work

Options
fieldsofnew
fieldsofnew Community member Posts: 46 Listener
Hi there ~ Really hoping someone lovely here could help me? Thank you so much. I have been receiving PIP and ESA  and housing benefit since I was doing my degree at home. I receive lower rate mobility for PIP.
I actually recently was re-awarded this at tribunal this year. Since then, I have been gainfully employed as an activities coordinator in an old peoples home for those who have dementia. They thought I was great for the job, because obviously I have experience of being in hospital myself Disability is for complex mental health including anoerxia. And I have a lot of experience of therapy and how to help others in this way also. I am creative and kind. I know what it is like and I know how to treat people and to help them feel better about acceptance of living with a condition. and also with simple exercises like drawing and talking to them. Because they are understaffed, I have also been asked to be involved with personal care. They are still currently employing a lot of people, so this is likely to change to my initial role. I do not believe this has changed my descriptors which are that I do not eat properly or without prompting and washing and bathing and dressing are still requiring prompting and assistance.

Regardless, I’ve heard that Pip is non-means tested.

I still don’t know if that means they will reassess me or not. Or itv they interview my employer - I would love to know all about this please. My employers do not officially know that I have a disability, just that I am a sensitive creative and caring person with a lot of experience helping others.