When is the right time to tell the person you're dating that you are on the autistic spectrum? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

When is the right time to tell the person you're dating that you are on the autistic spectrum?

Options
veganjewells
veganjewells Community member Posts: 2 Listener
I am new to dating since coming out recently. Although I am very open with my friends and family about my struggles with being on the spectrum, I am definitely more anxious and coucious (spelling?) about it with new people, especially new partners. 
Tagged:

Comments

• woodbine
    woodbine Community member Posts: 11,621 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @veganjewells and a warm welcome to scope, how are you on this bitterly cold day? Whilst i'm not on the spectrum I suspect that I would see how things go at first with a new partner.
    Good luck
    2024 The year of the general election...the time for change is coming 💡

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 1,651 Connected
    Options
    Depends on the person, if you tell him and he drops you like a hot brick, he was never right for you to begin with...

• chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,103 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    I have a genetic disorder that has unfortunately been passed down to my children. When my son asked me, 'when do you say something,' I said, you don't have to say anything, but, when you become serious about someone, then you need to say. My son has also been described by a neuropsychologist as 'next door to Aspergers.' When he met the lovely person who is now his wife, she later commented that she hadn't even realised; she does now, as she has to remind him to do things, & teases how did I ever cope with him?