Stressing about returning to work — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Stressing about returning to work

Charlieniblett
Charlieniblett Community member Posts: 54 Connected
edited March 2021 in Work and employment
So I was furloughed beginning of the year as I work in retail. It was pretty good timing as my partner had been diagnosed with MS in November and had had several falls recently. I’ve spent the past few months sorting things like esa assessment, pip assessment, insurance claim, occupational therapist visits and various other hospital and phone appointments. My partners condition has got increasingly worse and I’m so worried that he won’t be safe/be able to cope when i return to work. I have a meeting with HR on Friday because they have already started to do the Rita’s for April. Do you think I’m being unreasonable asking to work 3 days a week instead of 5?
Tagged:

Comments

• wilko
    wilko Community member Posts: 2,458 Disability Gamechanger
    @Charlieniblett, hello and welcome, i am sorry to hear your partner has had a confirmation of the diagnosis of MS. It sounds as if your partner has an aggressive form if your partner has had several falls recently. Being an MS sufferer myself diagnosed in 2016 aged 61. I had to finish work as no work place adjustments could be made as I was working with livestock and heavy machinery. You can only ask and hope your employer is sympathetic towards your request to reduce your hours. Your partner will hopefully be able to claim PIP, or ESA if still able as most are forced to claim universal credit if successful should allow further benefits to be claimed rent, council tax reduction, a rebate on your electricity bill if your supplier supports this funding you have to be claiming certain benefits to apply. 
  • Charlieniblett