Hi, my name is DouwCan I ask my employer for a work from home position? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, my name is DouwCan I ask my employer for a work from home position?

DouwP
DouwP Community member Posts: 9 Listener
edited October 2021 in Work and employment
Goo day, I’m new to this. I wonder if anyone can give me advise, Im a 52 year old man and I have fibromyalgia. Im currently booked off sick as I am awaiting a back procedure. Im currently doing a standing job, but I dont think I would be able to return doing that. I dont think my current job will be able to do adjustments to where I work. Can I ask my employer to offer me a work from home position?

Tagged:

Comments

• Ross_Alumni
    Ross_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,652 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @DouwP

Welcome to the community, it's nice to see you join us.

As part of your job, you could ask your employer to make adaptations to enable you to do your job, such as home-working or providing equipment that would help you. If your job is one that can't be done from home at all then of course that may be a struggle, but there's never any harm in discussing with them how you are feeling and trying to come to some sort of arrangement.

Are they aware of how your condition is impacting you?
    Online Community Coordinator

Concerned about another member's safety or wellbeing? Flag your concerns with us.

Did you receive a helpful reply to your discussion? Fill out our feedback form and let us know about it.
  • DouwP
    Hello Ross,

Thank you for your reply, yes my work know of my condition. I have been working there for 14 years and my condition has became worse in the last 4 years. 

Financially it’s becoming worse as Im only on ssp, I did applied for pip but its been taking so long. Is there any advice to speed up the process please?
  • janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger