Help needed notifying UC I'm a student on PIP — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Help needed notifying UC I'm a student on PIP

Options
MaxRD
MaxRD Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Sorry about the confusing title, just not sure how else to word it briefly. I have been tossing and turning this for months since getting UC early last year as I knew I would be going to university. 

I'm aware that usually University students cannot claim UC however I know that they can if they also have higher living rate of PIP (which I do).

They knew I was a college student last year but I've delayed on telling them I'm now at Uni until my finance came in. It did after I put in my monthly income for UC last month , so I'm anxious. I have to do it by journal as I'm unable to make phone calls , but I'm not sure what to say/type or if they even know I also get PIP. 

I've never used a forum before for this so I hope I've got this right. This is my first time handling benefits all by myself and I'm so overwhelmed.

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,266 Disability Gamechanger
    edited November 2021
    Options
    PIP isn't the only requirement you need when you claim UC as a student.
    Have you been assessed with the work capability assessment and found to have either LCW or LCWRA? If you haven't then you won't be entitled to UC while you're a student.
    As you'll also had your first student loan then you must report this, if it's a maintenance loan.
    MaxRD said:

I'm aware that usually University students cannot claim UC however I know that they can if they also have higher living rate of PIP (which I do).

New regulations came out for this not long ago. https://www.disabilityrightsuk.org/news/2020/august/new-regulations-issued-excluding-disabled-students-universal-credit-entitlement