Attitude — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Attitude

James_Devlin
James_Devlin Community member Posts: 5 Listener
I am a product designer looking to develop better products for those with a disability and wanted to know if it would be offensive to wheelchair users if I spent some time (3 days or so) in a wheelchair to better understand the needs?

Comments

• milo
    milo Community member Posts: 129 Pioneering
    Think it's a great idea,shame more people don't do it to see how it feels and the difficulties we face. Personally would like to see someone design some kind of hook type thing to open shop doors etc so you have room to maneuver without getting jammed
  • James_Devlin
    Thank you for the feedback Milo, I'm glad you think its a good idea! Would you be able to describe your idea in a little more depth so I can look into it?
  • Noah
    Noah Community member Posts: 425 Pioneering
    Really good post, Thanks James. I think as part of the training to be an OT you have to spend time in wheel chairs to try and better understand what it is like. I believe you will go far with this idea and I'm very interested to follow your progress.
  • milo
    Hi James. What I had in mind was something about a foot or so long, similar to a grabber with a hand grip at one end and a hook on the other so you can pull a door handle without having to butt the chair against the door while trying to reverse one handed which can be awkward. I find the grabber is ok for doors in the house but isn't strong enough for shop doors etc. To give you an idea I tried a tent peg puller but it isn't big enough.
  • James_Devlin