Is my son dyslexic? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Is my son dyslexic?

lisabelova
lisabelova Community member Posts: 4 Listener
edited October 2016 in Education
This discussion was created from comments split from: Hello my name is Hannah and I'm an educational psychologist.

Comments

• lisabelova
    edited September 2016
    Hi, my name is Lisa I hve a 9 year old boy Chris. 
    Chris really struggles to read and write (writing is harder for him than reading), he is around 2years behind on reading and writing. 

The school tells me it is not dyslexia as he can say how to spell a word, let's say t-r-a-i-n, but when asked to write the same word 10seconds later he can write tain. This they say is inconsistent with dyslexia and do not want to investigate further with professionals. 

I am not arguing that they are wrong, I can't help but wonder what else can this be and how do we find out what it is so that we know how to help him. I feel if we know what it is, I can find help easyer. 

For example, he often starts to write one sentence and half way through the sentence starts another sentence. So instead of "A girl went to the forest to find her brother. She went along shouting brother name." He will write: "A gil went to th forst her boter."
    He also struggles with reading, sometimes even simple words like "for", "of" and "from" confuse him.

School few years back had a "read, write and correct" book where they gave children 10words each week to practice for a test on Friday. He spent almost two years learning how to spell "this" and "these" correctly, but could never get them right in the test. After two years finally he managed to get them right in the test, but 2weeks later I asked him to spell those words and he got them wrong.