Is there a support group in the Manchester area for parents? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Is there a support group in the Manchester area for parents?

Options
SusieM
SusieM Community member Posts: 2 Listener

Hello, This is my first time ever on a discussion group.  Does anybody know of a support group in the Manchester area for parents. I am the grandmother of gorgeous twin girls aged 8 months. One of the babies has CP following lack of oxygen around the time of her birth. These are my daughters first children and I am so worried about her. She is struggling right now with all the things she has to juggle,appointments galore but little in the way of communication and advice. Plus caring for 2 babies and trying to come to terms with the diagnosis. I really feel she and her husband would benefit from talking to other parents who have been through some of the same things or are going through it now. Our little one  is tube fed and has just had a swallow test which showed some problems, she has a vulnerable swallow. She had been enjoying food up until then but we have been told to stop and tube feed only following a chest infection due to her aspirating..We  have not been given advice about any physio or other therapy which might strengthen her swallow or ways to ensure that food is pleasurable in the future. Does anybody have any advice about this? I am going to encourage my daughter, to  join this discussion herself when she feels ready but in the meantime I am trying to find her some support . Health visitor came once in the beginning but has not been back since.

Thanks for listening

Sue 

Comments

• Blue Frog
    Blue Frog Community member Posts: 358 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi @SusieM - I know you wouldn't want to give too much info on here, but is your daughter in Manchester itself or a borough of Greater Manchester? There is an excellent group in Stockport x
  • SusieM