My Autistic son wants to live independently — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

My Autistic son wants to live independently

Helsbels41
Helsbels41 Community member Posts: 17 Connected
Hi my name is Helen. I'm very new to asking for advice so please forgive the dozens of questions I'm going to be asking throughout this site

Comments

• Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi Helen, it's a little quiet today but I am sure there will be lots of people about soon.
    Scope
    Senior online community officer
  • Helsbels41
    Thank you. I don't sleep much so tend to be about a stupid o'clock most mornings so I'm used to it x
  • Blue Frog
    Blue Frog Community member Posts: 358 Pioneering
    edited January 2017
    Hi @Helsbels41 My brother has autism, he lived in a group house with other people (and fell out with everyone) so he now has a flat of his own with support workers via Direct Payments. He is a lot happier and has been there 5 years with no major problems
  • Helsbels41
    That's really really great to hear. Thank you for sharing that with me x
  • Blue Frog
    Blue Frog Community member Posts: 358 Pioneering
    He had some help from an OT - there was some sort of independent living team at social services who helped him for the first few weeks.  They assessed what he could do and showed him tasks like using the washing machine.  

We made loads of lists, and signs for round the flat - things like a step by step guide on the door to remind him what he needs to check before leaving.  We also bought a label machine for things like electrical plugs, which setting to put washing machine/oven on.

There is a panic alarm he can press in an emergency.