Council house — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Council house

Options
karategirl
karategirl Community member Posts: 13 Listener
Just wondering if anyone could help and give me some advice please. We are in private renting at the momemt but im looking at wether we would be able to get onto the council housing list as our adoptive son has complex needs and his last hospital appointment they are now going down the route of mri of his brain as he has muscle weakness and isnt working yet. I know we could be waiting years so i thought if we put it in now. 
Now looking at the council criteria it says that if we have a boy and girl under 10 they can share a room so we would only be offered a 2 bed but as we are going through the adoption process with the son they say he has to have his own bedroom and he cant share so would the council take this into consideration. Im really sorry im very new to this and never even looked at council houses before so if someone could please talk me through it that would be brilliant, im going to try citizens advice after the new year.

Comments

• Debbie_Alumni
    Debbie_Alumni Community member Posts: 932 Pioneering
    Options
    Hello @karategirl,

It's not clear from your post if you have other children living with you?

If Children's Services are stating that your adoptive son needs his own bedroom then yes the housing department would take this into consideration and it's likely that they will allow an extra bedroom if he can't share. Evidence will be needed to confirm this though.

I would be happy to look up your local council's housing policy and some local advice services if you could tell me which council is involved.

It's also worth having a read through Shelter's website. They have lots of information about housing including council housing.

Let me know if you need any further advice.

Best wishes
    Debbie
  • karategirl
    Options