Husband gets DLA - query about being his carer? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Husband gets DLA - query about being his carer?

bevpowell
bevpowell Community member Posts: 4 Listener
edited January 2017 in PIP, DLA, and AA
I currently work as a senior support worker. My husband has dual sensory impairments. He is very partially sighted and has profound hearing loss. He suffered a TUA last year and after being admitted to hospital with pnuemonia was diagnosed with COPD. He is of retirement age and receives his pension and DLA. He is now getting to the point where he needs me to be at home to care for him and maintain his safety. I am getting really concerned as to how we would cope financially and what benefits we would be entitled to. Can any one advise me please. We rent our house if that makes any difference. Thankyou.

Comments

• mossycow
    mossycow Scope Member Posts: 500 Pioneering
    I'm not an expert,  but just wanted to mention that I had big problems with benefits and the terror that came with learning I wouldn't work possible ever again.  I called the Scope help line and a lovely lovely lady who was an expert in benefits called me back.  Both people a chatted with had all the time in world for me,  and they really knew their stuff. 

Definitely worth calling if you can and it's free

0808 800 3333

We have found ways of saving money,  and more recently I've felt less anxious about money but gosh,  it's so what you don't need right now.  Sorry it's been hard. 

How is your husband (and you!)  doing? 
  • bevpowell