Hi, I'm Paula and my Son is Autistic and 19. Support as an independent adult. — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, I'm Paula and my Son is Autistic and 19. Support as an independent adult.

Options
paulamarie1222
paulamarie1222 Community member Posts: 13 Connected
Hi, my Son is Atypical Autistic with speech and language delay. He is 19 now. I have a lot of experience and knowledge to share but the 'learning the lessons' are ongoing and it would be good to be in touch with other people in a similar situation. The problems he faces as an adult are pretty daunting but he is doing well with my support and guidance. My main concerns at the moment are putting measures into place, should anything happen to me. It's pretty daunting and a huge worry. I have involved social services already but because I am already caring for him, they say that there is nothing for them to offer at the moment but that should anything happen to me, at least he is 'under their radar'. Has anyone got anything to share on this? 

Comments

• MrsLogic
    MrsLogic Community member Posts: 42 Connected
    Options
    Hi Paula

Welcome to the site, I'm sure that you'll be able to chat with likeminded individuals.  

I myself am autistic and have an autistic son, so anything you could share about the process would be really useful.

thanks

Jo, aka 'Mrs Logic'
    <a rel="nofollow" target="_blank" href="http://faspie.blogspot.co.uk/">http://faspie.blogspot.co.uk/</a>

• Castleford1
    Castleford1 Community member Posts: 59 Courageous
    Options
    Hello Paula,