Hi, my name is amlew! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, my name is amlew!

Options
amlew
amlew Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Hi X I'm wide awake as usual at 1.30 am x 

New to this site as it just popped up on my fb news feed x 

I am a carer for my partner. He left the army in 2011 fit and healthy physically but suffered complex ptsd and co morbid depression. He then suffered a spinal injury following a failed lumbar puncture in Nov 2011. He suffers with intermittent paralysis to his legs, falls, incontinence, chronic pain and exasperation of his ptsd and mental health x 

It's made me very unwell too x we have 6 children x 2 in Oz, 1 about to fly out and join them and 3 little ones at home x 20, 19, 18, 10, 8 and 4 years old x 

I'm a nurse of 22 years x currently not working as I'm mentally emotionally and spiritually exhausted x we have no help apart from  Home Start volunteer that visits once a week. She keeps me going x 

Would love to chat and meet new people x need some support x x 

Comments

• Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    HI @amlew welcome to the community, jump in and get involved on the posts.  You can see all the latest posts here and see the different categories here.

It all sounds very difficult for you and your family, do you get any financial support? If you need help with that side of things, you can ask a benefits advisor and we have lots of information.

I am a massive fan of Home Start, I volunteered for them a few years ago after I had support from them when my babies were little.  The team at Home Start might be a good place to start in asking if there is any other support available to you.

This community is a safe and friendly space for you to ask questions, chat with others and get support and information.  I know it can be isolating to be a carer and I hope you can get what you need from the community.